Born: September 15, 1938, at Williamston, N.C.
Height: 6.04    Weight: 215
Threw and batted right handed
Brother of Jim Perry, former major league pitcher.

Gaylord Perry was the foremost and most successful advocate of the spitball in the modern era. He was, by his own admission, “an outlaw in the strictest sense of the word – a man who lives outside the law, in this case the law of baseball.

Twice he led the National League in victories and once he topped the American League in wins. Twice he led the National League in innings pitched and twice he paced the American League in complete games. He remains the only pitcher to receive the Cy Young Award in both Leagues. He won 240 games after turning 30, a figure surpassed only by Cy Young’s 318 and Warren Spahn’s 277.

Gaylord took part in a historic doubleheader between the Giants and New York Mets on May 31, 1964, at Shea Stadium. This was the longest doubleheader in history, consuming 9 hours, 52 minutes of playing time. Gaylord entered the thirteenth inning of the second game with the score tied 6-6. Perry recalls “They didn’t even have a catcher left to warm me up”.  He went on to pitch 10 shutout innings before Del Crandall, pinch hitting for the pitcher, drove in the go-ahead run in an 8-6 victory. Soon thereafter, Perry was moved into the starting rotation.

After Perry retired following the 1983 season, he served as baseball coach at Limestone College in Gaffney, S.C. The relentless competitor said he would not teach one of his students to doctor a baseball. “But”, he noted, stating his pitcher’s credo, “I would teach a kid to get opposing hitters to think he was doing it.”

Noted Accomplishments
Won National League Cy Young Memorial Award, 1978
Named Right-handed pitcher on THE SPORTING NEWS National League All-Star Team, 1978
Won National League Cy Young Memorial Award, 1972
Named Right-handed pitcher on THE SPORTING NEWS American League All-Star Team, 1972
Shares National League record for most putouts by pitcher, nine-inning game (5), July 18th, 1970

Information taken from 1991 Hall of Fame Program

 powered by: